Published: 9th Apr 2019

Somerset County Council has announced six ‘community library partnerships’, which will deliver library services together in future. Under the partnership agreements, existing library buildings will remain open, with community partners working together with Somerset County Council in the following six communities – Bruton, Nether Stowey, North Petherton, Somerton, Watchet and Wiveliscombe. In November, Somerset County Council agreed to retain 19 of its existing libraries and seek help from communities to run 15 other library buildings as community library partnerships. The two library buildings where no expressions of interest to run a partnership were received, Highbridge and Sunningdale (Yeovil), closed in December. Fully staffed libraries will continue at Watchet and Wiveliscombe whilst Somerton, South Petherton, and North Petherton libraries will be mostly staff led with some additional volunteer support, which will support extended opening hours in South Petherton. Volunteer-led libraries will be operating at Bruton, Castle Cary, Nether Stowey and Porlock. … (To read the full article, subscribe below)