Published: 30th Dec 2019

The government has published the details of 14 areas to receive ‘tailored expert support’ from the High Streets Task Force. The task force was originally launched in July 2019 by ministers in response to the recommendations of the High Streets Expert Panel, which was chaired by the hugely successful entrepreneur Sir John Timpson. According to the government, it will give high streets and town centres ‘advice, training and information to adapt and thrive’, piloting a range of products and services with 20 places before rolling out across the country next year. The first 14 of the 20 areas have been announced today (30 December). They include: Salford – Swinton town centre Croydon – Thornton Heath Staffordshire Moorlands – Cheadle Rushmoor – Aldershot town centre Birmingham – Stirchley Hyndburn – Accrington town centre South Lakeland – Kendal Preston – Friargate Coventry – Coventry city centre Hartlepool – Hartlepool town centre Cheshire … (To read the full article, subscribe below)